Susanna Bauer

susannabauer

susannabauer4

susannabauer2

susannabauer3

“I go walking.

I find a leaf, a piece of driftwood – or sometimes it finds me.

I take it home and its new life begins.

This website is about the work that started alongside my career as a modelmaker.
I have worked for the television and film industry for over 16 years, making objects like King Arthur’s chalice, cheeses for Wallace and Gromit, miniature buildings, robots and spaceships.
I have always been driven by a great love of making and working with my hands and over the years have acquired a broad knowledge of materials and techniques.
Most of my pieces are small sculptural objects often based on found natural materials. I like giving time to the inconspicuous things that surround us and often go unnoticed, paying attention to small details and the tactile quality of objects. Appropriating traditional craft techniques like weaving and crochet as a means of sculpture brings a contemplative element to the development of my work. I am interested in unusual combinations of materials, the experimentation with fragility and strength and the individual stories that evolve and shape themselves in the process of making”. [From the artist’s website/ Du website de l’artiste].

This entry was posted in Art and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

