Louise Riley

louiseriley

louiseriley2

bnominados-louiseriley

louiseriley4

“The naked body is timeless, it is out of fashion and context, as my work changes and evolves there is one constant, my interest in human nature and my conviction that the face is the door. I try to encapsulate that tiny slice of the present, like a droplet suspended in the air, having been released into action and yet to explode into its inevitable future. The present doesn’t exist. It is just a portal sucking through the future into the past, yet it is the only place in which we exist. My quest is to immortalise this intangible door. The infinity of it, infinitely nothing and ever powerful. To create something that is more truth than reality.

When I am sewing figures, I think of the thread being strands of DNA and the stitches binary codes and the fabric (our second skin anyway) a grid and that leads me onto String theory, experiences happening alongside each other with endless alternative outcomes. These grandiose thoughts are what get me through the hours.

The literal abundance of fabric and thread as domestic content and construction, not limited to gender, makes our relationship to it very intimate.

I use the mattress as a backgroundless background that holds weight of experience conceptually, spiritually and physically. Blood, sweat and tears like tree rings in its core. Its presence in our rights of passage, our sleep, rest, thoughts, dreams, the theatre of life spilled out onto it. How could I work on anything else! It is a ready-made canvas, it allows my ideas to penetrate it and collaborate with it to unearth a supposed breath-taking, yet ordinary, history or herstory.

More recently I have been sewing into tulle, the translucency allowing for constant evolution and external collaboration, a live animation fortifying the eternal truth that nothing ever stays the same”. [From the artist’s blog / Du blog de l’artiste].

This entry was posted in Art and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

